Many car seats are used or installed incorrectly!
Make sure yours is not one of them!
Fulton Fire department has several certified car seat technicians on staff to assist with child safety seats. Call the Fire Department and set up an appointment to have your car seat checked or installed
A new Missouri law,effective August 28,2006, says your child must be in a booster seat if they are ages 4 through 7 who weigh at least 40 pounds, unless they are 80 pounds or 4’9” tall.
Missouri’s Child Restraint Law
- Children less than 4 years old or less than 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child safety seat.
- Children ages 4 through 7 who weigh at least 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat unless they are 80 pounds or 4’9″ tall.
- Children 8 and over or weighing at least 80 pounds or at least 4’9” tall are required to be secured by a safety belt or buckled into an appropriate booster seat.
- The fine for violating this law is $50 plus court costs.
The Fulton Fire Department has 3 personnel trained in partnership with the Missouri Youth Fire safety Coalition.
The Fulton Fire Department has 4 Car Seat Technicians trained through Safe Kids
to assist with proper child safety seat installations.